Orphic’s first program, Orphic: Beyond, showcases the ensemble’s commitment to audience-building through virtuosic, yet widely accessible, percussion music. This program takes its title from the meaning behind Orphic—“beyond ordinary”—in order to move “beyond” a traditional recital performance for a more communicative and expressive musical product. Orphic: Beyond also includes dialogue from the stage, for a more inclusive, inviting concert experience.

DisArchitecture by Dave Hall (10')

Toccata by Sergei Prokofiev, arr. Samuel Chan (6')

Quartet for Four Snare Drums by Kevin Bobo (6')

Musée by Kevin Bobo (10')


Celestial Dance by Stefan Cwik (8')

Boom by Terry Longshore & Brett Reed (6')

Vous Avez De Feu? by Emmanuel Séjourné (3')

Muse of Fire by Alexis Alrich (7')



The group’s latest (and more ear-bending) concert program, Orphic: Unheard, is the result of the quartet’s mission to commission and perform new music by living composers. Some pieces, such as the Tilburg, Alrich, Cannell, and Froelich, were written expressly for Orphic, while the Viñao and Maric were a result of collaborations with other leading ensembles—namely, the Colin Currie Quartet and The Percussion Collective. To end with a bang, Orphic co-composed a brand new drum quartet that closes the program, demonstrating the ensemble’s first foray into the territory of player-composers.


Muse of Fire by Alexis Alrich (7')

A Series of Accidents by Shaun Tilburg (7')

New work by Kenneth Froelich (8-10')

Stress and Flow, mvt. I by Alejandro Viñao (7')

Jigsaw by Bryce Cannell (8')

Nascent Forms by Dave Maric (17')

New work by Orphic Percussion (5')

1-27-19 Orphic Percussion-7943-Edit.jpg